AAP announced names for 6 seats in Delhi for Lok Sabha Polls, Seventh is yet to be decided : Gopal Rai

Vishal Malhotra/ Rahul Kumar Jha

0 274

New Delhi : Aam Aadmi Party today announced its candidates for Lok Sabha elections. Ending all hopes of an alliance with the Congress, Delhi AAP convener Gopal Rai announced the names of party candidates on six of seven seats in Delhi for Lok Sabha polls.

The candidate for the seventh and the final seat, West Delhi, is still being discussed and will be announced later, senior party leader Gopal Rai said at a press conference this afternoon.

Atishi will be contesting from East Delhi. Guggan Singh will fight for the North West Delhi seat. Raghav Chadha hopes to win from South Delhi while Dilip Pandey will file nominations for the North East seat. Pankaj Gupta and Brijesh Goyal will fight from Chandni Chowk and New Delhi, respectively. The six candidates were earlier appointed as in charge on the respective Lok Sabha seats.

During a meeting of ‘Mahagathbandhan’, leaders at NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s residence last month, Congress president Rahul Gandhi had refused a proposal for alliance between his party and the AAP, citing opposition from its Delhi unit leaders, Rai added.

The BJP had won the seven Delhi seats in the 2014 election. Since then, however, AAP has made its presence felt with impressive wins in assembly polls. “We won 66 out of 77 seats in Assembly elections. We will try to make a similar presence felt during the Lok Sabha elections,” Rai said.

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.