Amity University Haryana Celebrates Xth Convocation, Recognizes Excellence in Education and Research

Ten News Network

Galgotias Ad

Gurugram, February 8, 2024: The Xth Convocation of Amity University Haryana (AUH), held on Saturday, February 3, 2024, marked a momentous occasion as the university conferred degrees upon 1573 graduands, comprising 960 Undergraduate, 559 Postgraduate, and 54 PhD recipients. The ceremony, graced by esteemed dignitaries and luminaries from various fields, celebrated the academic achievements and contributions of its graduates.

The Convocation, presided over by Chancellor Dr. Aseem Chauhan and Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) P.B. Sharma, witnessed the presence of Trustees of RBEF, distinguished faculty members, proud parents, and invited guests. Among the notable attendees were Prof. (Dr.) Govindan Rangarajan, Director of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore; Kishore Jayaraman, President of Rolls-Royce, India and South Asia; and legal luminary Shardul S. Shroff, Executive Chairman of Shardul  Amarchand  Mangaldas & Co., who were honoured with Honoris Causa Doctorates for their remarkable contributions to their respective fields.

In addition to the honorary doctorates, AUH conferred Honorary Professorships upon Dr. Mukund Deshpande, Former Chief Scientist, CSIR-NCL; Prof (Dr) Chin-Tsan Wang, Director, Science and Technology Division, Taipei Economic and Cultural Center, India and Dr. Brent N Holben, Senior Scientist, NASA, Goddard Space Flight Centre  recognizing their significant contributions to academia and research.

The Convocation commenced with an Academic Procession led by the majestic Rajputana Rifles band, setting the tone for the grandeur of the event. The ceremony began with Vedic Hawan  in the morning followed by Saraswati Vandana, to invoke the blessings of the divinity.

Addressing the graduands, Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) P.B. Sharma emphasized the importance of responsibility and ethics in their future endeavours, urging them to strive for perfection. He also highlighted AUH’s recent achievement of being ranked among the top 100 universities in India by NIRF University Ranking 2023. He shared his vision with the words “Kushlann Na Paramaditabhyam, Swadhyay Na Pamaditabhyam” inspiring the young professionals to work relentlessly for achieving perfection, being their own inspiration and not shying away from self-study.

Chancellor Dr. Aseem Chauhan commended the graduates for their commitment to making a positive impact on society, emphasizing AUH’s mission to instill a sense of social responsibility in its students. The Chancellor hailed the graduands on their achievements and urged them to “walk the talk” and make their nation and Alma Mater proud.

Expressing gratitude for the honorary doctorate, Prof. Dr. Govindan Rangarajan lauded AUH’s focus on research and innovation, highlighting the university’s unique approach to education that integrates human values and ethics.

Shardul S. Shroff, recipient of the Honoris Causa Doctorate in Law, inspired the graduands with his words on perseverance and excellence, urging them to pursue success with dedication and effort.

The ceremony also recognized academic excellence with the conferral of 176 medals and the presentation of the Baljit Shastri Award for Human & Traditional Values. Additionally, AUH honoured students for their outstanding work in sustainability with the GBCI Corporate Award of Sustainability.

AUH’s commitment to sustainability and innovation was underscored by its LEED Platinum certification and impressive patent portfolio. The university’s dedication to research and academic excellence has solidified its position as a leading institution in India and beyond. Today, AUH stands taller with 242 patents filed out of which 168 have been published. In 2023, The Ministry of Education, Government of India, awarded AUH with a 4-Star rating in the University category. The Amity Universe hosts 13 campuses in India and 17 reputed international campuses. In a short span of 14 years, AUH has emerged as a major hub for world class research and a cradle for innovation.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.