Galgotias University hosts inaugural Shakuntala Devi 1st National Moot Court Competition

Galgotias Ad

The School of Law at Galgotias University recently hosted the inaugural Shakuntala Devi 1st National Moot Court Competition. The event held from 27th April to 29th April 2024 witnessed participation from 22 National and International teams from esteemed institutions, marking a significant milestone in the legal education. The competition commenced with a grand inaugural ceremony graced by the distinguished dignitaries of Galgotias University, who expressed their enthusiasm and support for fostering legal acumen and advocacy skills among the budding legal minds.

The preliminary round, held on April 27th, saw 22 teams display their legal prowess and comprehension of intricate legal matters. From this round, 8 teams emerged victorious, advancing to the quarterfinals. April 28th witnessed intense courtroom battles during the quarterfinals, with 4 teams demonstrating exceptional advocacy skills and legal reasoning to secure a spot in the semifinals. The finals, held on April 29th, saw the Army Institute of Law, Mohali emerge as the winner of the competition.

The valedictory ceremony conducted at Vivekananda Auditorium was graced by the Chief Guest Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee, Former Judge of the Supreme Court; Guest of Honour Mr. Justice P.S. Dhaliwal, former Judge of Punjab and Haryana High Court, who also is the President of the Punjab State Consumer Redressal Commission. Mr. Justice J.R. Midha, Former Judge Delhi High Court and Shri. Sunil Galgotia, Chancellor of Galgotias University, also attended the event.

In his opening remarks, Mr. Justice J R Midha acknowledged the students’ performance and emphasized on importance of a well drafted moot court proposition. Prof. (Dr.) Naresh Kumar Vats, Dean of School of Law rendered a felicitation talk inviting Justice P.S. Dhaliwal to share his inspiring life journey.

Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee highlighted the gender gap in the legal profession, emphasizing the need to bridge it. She appreciated the competition being named after a woman and commended the teams for their performance. The profound insights shared by her encouraged and inspired the participants, underscoring the importance of Moot Court Competition in fostering a culture of excellence in legal education.

The winners, Dhruv Khanduri, Pragati Khandekar, and Vishwangini from Army Law School, Mohali, received the Galgotias University’s Shakunthala Devi Memorial National Moot Court Competition’s winner’s trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000. The runner-up prize of Rs. 30,000 was awarded to Saloni Rajora, Sanskriti Rawat, and Jahnavi Tomar from LLYOD Law College, Gr. Noida. Additionally, prizes were awarded for Best Oralists and Best Memorial.

Anirudh Arora from GuruNanak Dev University, Amritsar and Dhruv Khanduri from Army Law School, Mohali won the Best Oralists Prize money of Rs. 7,500. Additionally, Payal Singh, Nishtha Chaudhary and Bhumika Grover from Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala won the Best Memorial for the Petitioner side and the student team of Md. Raashid Pardhaan and Ishant Tripathi from Jamia Millia Islamia won the Best Memorial Award for the Respondent side.

Adv. Aradhana Galgotia, the Director of Operations at Galgotias University, has demonstrated unwavering dedication to advancing legal education to international standards through the flagship Shakuntala Devi Memorial National Court Competition and its resounding success. As envisioned by Dr. Dhruv Galgotia, the Chief Executive Officer of Galgotias University, the competition would enhance the legal education process in its real-world context.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.