Govt appoints Sanjay Kumar Agarwal as CBIC chairman

Ten News Network

Galgotias Ad

New Delhi(India), 06/08/23: The government has named Sanjay Kumar Agarwal as head of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC) on Saturday.

Agarwal takes over for Vivek Johri, who retired on May 31.

The finance ministry said, “The President of India is pleased to appoint Shri Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, IRS, …member CBIC as chairman CBIC in the department of revenue …with status of Special Secretary to the Government of India with effect from date of assumption of the post…”

Agarwal was in charge of CBIC member compliance management, which included conducting investigations.

In a separate order, the ministry announced that Surjit Bhujabal, the incumbent principal director general of DGGI, has been appointed as a member of the CBIC.

The CBIC board is led by a chairman who is aided by six members who oversee tax policy, customs, information technology and taxpayer services, GST, compliance management, and vigilance.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.